Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
2020 GLA250 4MATIC Avantgarde Edition
I have a 2017 Gla amg I found oil in air intake tube that connects from air box to turbo, is the normal?
this is not normal, but an issue I've heard of before. the cheaper plastic that makes up the air intake breaks down over time and cracks, causing oil to get in the air box. there may be a leak somewhere in the system as well. don't take my word for it though because i'm not a mechanical expert. I believe there are YouTube videos or threads on this forum on the topic.]
the issue described above may not be the same issue that you're having, you may need some new seals 馃Ν or a new intake if the current one is damaged

update: a quick google search revealed this; https://www.carparts.com/blog/why-is-there-oil-in-my-air-filter-housing-and-air-intake/ like I said before, could be a faulty seal in the turbo or the air system. id get this looked at immediately to save yourself time and money and prevent further issues down the road

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Rama! I just need to take it off and look inside. I just hope it's not "blow-by" coming from the Turbo. It only has 40k on it and I'm the second owner and bought the car from Autobahn Mercedes in Belmont California a couple months ago.

Registered
Thanks Rama! I just need to take it off and look inside. I just hope it's not "blow-by" coming from the Turbo. It only has 40k on it and I'm the second owner and bought the car from Autobahn Mercedes in Belmont California a couple months ago.
Glad I can help! I found this on Google, https://www.carparts.com/blog/why-is-there-oil-in-my-air-filter-housing-and-air-intake/ the issue sounds like something on the more serious side. if you have warranty (which you probably do), the necessary repairs will be covered. Please consider adding your vehicle information to your page so that people can be of more help and other users with the same car can get help :)