Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I thought I would share my impressions of the cars I’ve test driven in addition to the GLA. These vehicles aren’t all in the same market segment, but rather are cars that have captured my interest. I’ve been driving a 2008 Lexus ES350 for the past seven years, and, despite being very happy with the car, I'm getting a bit bored.

Mercedes GLA 250 — What struck me immediately was the go-cart-like handling of the GLA. Just pulling it out of its parking space is more fun than I’ve been used to. The entire car feels like it’s been carved out of a single piece of high-strength steel. It reminds me somewhat of my 1998 Volkswagen Passat and 2000 Audi A4, but with even more responsiveness. I drove two GLAs, one with the 19” wheels and one with the 18” wheels, and, for me, the 18” wheels gave the better balance between ride and handling. The Harman Kardon audio blew me away, and gives the best sound quality of all the cars I’ve tested. I use a favorite piece to test, the Swedish Chamber Orchestra’s performance of BWV 1053 movement 1. The hatch-mounted subwoofer gave this piece a life I hadn’t previously experienced. One negative is that the driver’s door armrest could be a bit longer (I’m 6’3”, 260# for reference.) Lack of door armrest room is a problem I have with many cars, as is poor visibility where low rooflines meet the windshield. While somewhat improved over my Lexus, the height of the windshield could be better. I will likely need to occasionally crane my neck forward when first-at-light.