Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just had the first year service on my original new 2015 GLA45 completed, I was advised that my OEM front Continental tires (235/40 ZR 20) are Finished after 10,001 kilometers. Does this jibe with other owners experience? I am a retired engineer, I do NOT race(?) and it is not really a 'hot rod', is it?.

·
Registered
132 Posts
mmmmm.....reading your post i thought what a load of crap from MB so i checked mine, the fronts are nearly stuffed
There is a little left on them so im going to rotate them to the back and get a few more thousand out of them
It looks like they should be rotated every 5000 km as the rears still have plenty on them

·
Registered
816 Posts
The Continental tires on the GLA45 have a tread wear rating of 240 which is well into the "low tread wear mileage and high performance" category. Also, if you drive in C mode instead of S or M mode, that puts all the bias to the front wheels (whereas S and M mode programs in AWD with a 70-30 bias front to rear under normal driving and more to 50-50 in more spirited driving and with 360 hp on tap you could be wearing the front tires out faster than you realize. BUT with that said 10,000 Kilometers (~6,300 Miles) seems a bit low for a totally worn out tire. Are they going to check the alignment?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Continental Tire has asked me (very fast response!) to get the MB dealer to call them with a tire condition report for possible warranty action. (just came back from dealer)
I do understand the performance rating of these particular tires (I expected wear...) and would not wish for less on my GLA45. But that being said, and all the considerations being taken into account; just maybe there is a problem?