Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Got a 2016 GLA250 4Matic a few days ago. Going through the learning curve.

So our question is about when (if) a flat happens. Since there is no spare in the GLA250, and since these are RFTs, we just drive to the nearest dealer to have the flat fixed?? What are the costs? (We are in MD, USA)

Another question, can we buy a replica of what the GLA250 now has on, and keep it at home, since we certainly don't have any plans to drive more than a 50 mile radius from home with the GLA250, - that way, we can just drive back home and change the tire then make arrangements for the flat...? Anyone here get my drift?

·
Registered
816 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

All US spec'd GLA250s come with run flats (aka 'self supporting tires') and barring catastrophic tire failure (such as a tear out of the side wall) you have about 50 miles at 50 mph max to reach home? tire shop? etc. IF the tire failure is a puncture (say a nail) in the tread part it then many RFTs can be repaired (check which brand tire you have and then consult with manufacturer website to see if they approve RFTs being repaired…some do not endorse repairs of any type). If the nail puncture is in the sidewall then the tire is non-repairable.

Your idea of keeping a replacement tire at home is sound if you do not travel more than 50 or so miles from home base. There are no replica wheels out at this time matching the alloys used on the GLA thus you would have to get a MB wheel (thus more $$$) and tire matching what is on your GLA. Another less expensive alternative is to go with a non matching alloy (making sure the off set and bolt pattern match the OEM wheel) and drive on that set up until the tire is repaired or replaced on the damage wheel. If you change the wheel at home, make sure to use a torque wrench and follow MB torque spec for tightening the wheel bolts.