Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2016 GLA250
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in Regina Saskatchewan Canada. It is currently -45 C. I am a nurse so can't be running it every 2hrs. I have owned my 2016 GLA250 for 3yrs and this is the 3rd winter the SUV has basically frozen up. Each time I take it in to the dealership but they can't find anything.
This is what happens... It starts, the check engine light comes on, it sounds TERRIBLE, I let it warm up for 10 mins, I put it into gear and it will make a clunk noise. It is extremely stiff to drive of course. I go slow but the shifting is so bad I am afraid it is going to stall. It then jerks and shakes like I'm riding a Harley and sounds like a tractor. 2 winters ago they said it was the exhaust freezing because I am not driving it far enough at a time. It lost power 30 mins out of my city and I had it towed back to the dealership. They said the fix was to drill holes in the exhaust pipe to let out the moisture. Well this hasn't fixed it because it continues to do this. When I get home I let it run for a half hour in my garage and it seems to be better after that. Seriously though, how can that be a fix? Such a waste of gas. Dealership has no ideas! I have looked for a winter grill cover but can't find anything. I going back to old fashion cardboard on the front to see if that works! I am scared to go to work tomorrow for fear the same thing will happen when I go home.
I have had 10 vehicles in my life and lived in Saskatchewan and Alberta, NOTHING has ever done this! My son's 2000 Saturn car is more reliable than this MB.
Has anyone else had this issue? I am desperate. I love this thing but I am seriously looking at trading it off. I can't stand this stress anymore...
Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!!!

·
Super Moderator
786 Posts