Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What wheel/tire combo is anyone using for track/autocross (200 treadwear tire)?

I’m looking at 18x9 with Potenza 275/35/18 or 18x8.5 with 255/35/18.

Thanks!

·
Registered
116 Posts
I just did my ‘newbie’/novice season of autocross last year on the stock 20” setup.. 235/40r20 with Conti Sport Contact 5p.

I’m pretty new to motorsports, so Iiterally just drove to the event, checked my tire pressure on the way, did my laps with no adjustments inbetween, and drove home. To me, the car performed flawlessly.. but I don’t have enough experience running different wheel sizes, tire sizes, tire manufacturers to really comment any further other than that the Conti’s performed great other than the fact that they wear fast. I might have another event or two on my current set, and then plan to buy Michelin Pilot Sport 4S (I just put a set on my new summer daily wheels too).

I do understand that there are a lot more tire options in 18 and 19” and the smaller wheel size would be a benefit too.. but I’m in the boat of if I’m replacing OEM parts I want them to be of that quality or better, and since the OE wheels are forged I’m reluctant to sell them for cheap just to turn around and buy a set of cast wheels bc what you’re going to get out of the set of 20’s mighttt just about buy you a set of cast 18’s. Maybe if I was competing for points I’d look more seriously look into switching out my wheel & tire setup but if I was getting that serious I’d probably just buy a dedicated autocross/track car instead bc I also daily the 45.

·
Registered
346 Posts
I'm surprised. I had issues with the conti's driving cold. They were pretty hard when cold. So if I et them cool down, I could slide pretty easy. I understand Autocross is all about driving relatively cold tires (I've been told).

·
Registered
55 Posts