Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

My name is TJ and I'm from the Portland Oregon area. I have been running Torque in my Subaru for several years before getting my 2018 GLA 45.

I am wondering what coolant temps everyone is seeing through the app since the numbers in the drivers display are apparently bogus. I feel a bit paranoid that the cooling system in the GLA seems to be working very hard, even in moderate weather and driving conditions. I am regularly seeing coolant temps fluctuate between 205 and 215 degrees befrFahrenheit and the fans sound like they are running on high speed much of the time.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Cheers

·
Super Moderator
604 Posts
Benz AMG squeezed every last Hp out of a 4-banger in creating the 45, so yes, no surprise to me that the cooling system is working very hard indeed.

However it should still be adequate for the task in all but possibly hard track use in very hot ambient conditions. It may be time for a thermostat replacement, and possibly the water pump.

As 45 owners cite their typical temp ranges that may further confirm the need for replacing this hard working, always immersed, and thereby commonly failing part(s).

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hi folks,

My name is TJ and I'm from the Portland Oregon area. I have been running Torque in my Subaru for several years before getting my 2018 GLA 45.

I am wondering what coolant temps everyone is seeing through the app since the numbers in the drivers display are apparently bogus. I feel a bit paranoid that the cooling system in the GLA seems to be working very hard, even in moderate weather and driving conditions. I am regularly seeing coolant temps fluctuate between 205 and 215 degrees befrFahrenheit and the fans sound like they are running on high speed much of the time.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Cheers