Mercedes-Benz GLA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Regarding my GLA 45 (2015), sometimes i have a weird noise coming from the wheel/tire when I try to turn the wheel (slowly). first noticed from backing out from parking spot. Is this the friction between tire and the ground? could it be alignment? or specifically the tires are too hard in this weather? or could it be the 4matic? or low profile tires?

P.S. im from canada, its about -2 here right now in Toronto. The vehicle has 13k km on it now. im new to MB, just came from a 2012 328i xdrive coupe, never experienced these kind of handling issues.:eek:

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
update on the issue: The noise disappeared when temperature reaches more than 15-17c and above. for those who wonder. i was told by MB dealer that the 20 inch is a set of all season. godbless these crap sales.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I had the same issue Michael. It's the tires sliding across the ground when the wheel is turned 1 or more turns. Once the tires got up to temp the noise went away. I just replaced those summer tires for Michelin AS3+ 255-35-20. These are amazing All Season tires, probably the best to date. You will need to put wheel spacers on the front though, in order to accommodate the bump in width. The only downside is I can't get it to drift anymore, these are just too planted.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I had the same issue Michael. It's the tires sliding across the ground when the wheel is turned 1 or more turns. Once the tires got up to temp the noise went away. I just replaced those summer tires for Michelin AS3+ 255-35-20. These are amazing All Season tires, probably the best to date. You will need to put wheel spacers on the front though, in order to accommodate the bump in width. The only downside is I can't get it to drift anymore, these are just too planted.