ABS / DSR / 4Matic Inoperable? - Mercedes GLA Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-24-2019, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
ABS / DSR / 4Matic Inoperable?

Well, 2 days of ownership on my 2017 GLA250 4Matic with 20K miles and I have a big issue.

Started the car this morning and the instrument cluster was lit up with engine light, ABS / DSR / 4Matic Inoperable. It's Sunday but I'd like to get some information before I take it to the dealer tomorrow morning. Thank you.
Mark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-24-2019, 04:43 PM
Super Moderator
 
turbolink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA250
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Just to double check, did you "reboot"? That is, shut down, wait a minute or two, and try again? The MBs I've owned, including my GLA, tend to get phantom notifications now and then, which like any given Windows system, can hopefully be remedied with a reboot. That said, you are wise to consult your dealer if it persists, for sure. Please let us know how this develops.

2016 GLA250 FWD
Cirrus White, Brown Leather Upholstery, Burl Walnut Trim
Interior, Premium, Driver Assistance, Sport Packages
Rearview Camera, Power Passenger Seat With Memory
Bi-Xenon Headlights, LED Taillights
turbolink is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-24-2019, 05:01 PM
Super Moderator
 
Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Northern California, Bay Area
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
True ... Car grounding systems are notoriously poor and computers can be terribly prone to ground glitches. This is especially true when starting a car ... I was always taught to turn everything off (wipers, fans, radio, lights) before shutting a car off to avoid blowing fuses when starting it up.

A restart can be a simple solution.
Wayne is online now  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 11-24-2019, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
If by reboot, you mean turn the car off and then on again, yes. Same issue even after a few hours. whatever it is, its basically shut down everything right down to cruise control.
Mark is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-25-2019, 02:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Northern California, Bay Area
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
The only other idea I've got is the battery. If it is low (less than 13 volts with car off) this could affect the computers.

Let us know what you find ...
Wayne is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-25-2019, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Well. The issue was that the wire for the Driver Side Speed sensor was cut. No idea why or how! Thank you for the feedback.
Mark is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-25-2019, 10:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
turbolink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA250
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
That’s a new one for our archives. Glad you have a happy ending.

2016 GLA250 FWD
Cirrus White, Brown Leather Upholstery, Burl Walnut Trim
Interior, Premium, Driver Assistance, Sport Packages
Rearview Camera, Power Passenger Seat With Memory
Bi-Xenon Headlights, LED Taillights
turbolink is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-26-2019, 03:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Northern California, Bay Area
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Glad you found the problem. I've seen this on the Porsche Forum after people change their brakes. Didn't think of it in your case.
Wayne is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old Yesterday, 08:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Tunkvalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Norway
Car Year & Model: 2015 GLA 200cdi, aut. 4-tronic
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Imaging its a terrible feeling getting all those alarmlights on a new car. Glad you found it easy to fix! Just curious: Drivers side speed sensor? Is that sensor on the wheels? Or does your car drive with a different speed on the passengers side? 🤭😊
Tunkvalo is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old Today, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Huey52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New England
Car Year & Model: 2018 GLA 250 AWD and FWD (yes, 2)
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Speed sensors on the wheels. The inputs help determine primarily deferential rotational speeds which is used by the computer to adjust a number of things as noted by all the warning lights, as well as alert a tire pressure imbalance (tires without internal TPMS sensors).

Perhaps a sharp rock or some other road debris was kicked up and sliced the wire on that driver's side wheel. A million to one shot but such things happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunkvalo View Post
Imaging its a terrible feeling getting all those alarmlights on a new car. Glad you found it easy to fix! Just curious: Drivers side speed sensor? Is that sensor on the wheels? Or does your car drive with a different speed on the passengers side? 🤭😊

2018 GLA 250 AWD in MA and FWD in FL
Huey52 is online now  
Reply

User Tag List




Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome