Activate Carplay & Android Auto - Mercedes GLA Forum
 49Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 251 Old 08-26-2017, 02:42 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
firstdown80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA 250, Toyota Corolla
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Activate Carplay & Android Auto

Saw this on Youtube. Anyone have something like this and tried it.


Their website - AUTOSVS TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD. Smartauto Solutions for BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Porsche, Landrover etc...
ZomZom likes this.
firstdown80 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 251 Old 08-26-2017, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Daniel Chamero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA 250
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
I don't know how did he do it, but I would love to know.

In fact I have a strange problem, my car has Carplay already, it shows as an option and it works fine, but it does not show Android Auto as an option (and it does not do anything if I plug an android phone)
Daniel Chamero is offline  
post #3 of 251 Old 08-26-2017, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
firstdown80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA 250, Toyota Corolla
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Very tempting to drive up to Vegas during Sema Oct 31 to Nov 3, this company will be there.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
firstdown80 is online now  
 
post #4 of 251 Old 08-27-2017, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Car Year & Model: 2017 GLA 250 4Matic
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Chamero View Post
I don't know how did he do it, but I would love to know.

In fact I have a strange problem, my car has Carplay already, it shows as an option and it works fine, but it does not show Android Auto as an option (and it does not do anything if I plug an android phone)
1st gen CarPlay (2016 models) head unit does not support Android Auto. Only 2017 or newer models do both.

Depending on the manufacture date of the car, some later 2016 models can be updated to add Android Auto support. In fact, if you check the web site linked to that video above, it also mentioned 2016.6 requirement.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #5 of 251 Old 08-27-2017, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Daniel Chamero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA 250
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Depending on the manufacture date of the car, some later 2016 models can be updated to add Android Auto support. In fact, if you check the web site linked to that video above, it also mentioned 2016.6 requirement.
Is there a way I can check if mine is compatible or not? how and where?
Daniel Chamero is offline  
post #6 of 251 Old 08-27-2017, 06:51 PM
Super Moderator
 
turbolink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Car Year & Model: 2016 GLA250
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Best way is through your MB service department, let them run your VIN for compatible equipment. There's a however, however...some dealers are too quick to say yes or no without a real deep dive. Took some sustained effort to get to the real answer on Apple CarPlay retro-fit for my September 2015-built GLA250 without the COMAND system. A firm no, unfortunately. December 2015 was the magic date for CarPlay-capable production, only with the COMAND system (the full Multimedia Package).

2016 GLA250 FWD
Cirrus White, Brown Leather Upholstery, Burl Walnut Trim
Interior, Premium, Driver Assistance, Sport Packages
Rearview Camera, Power Passenger Seat With Memory
Bi-Xenon Headlights, LED Taillights
turbolink is online now  
post #7 of 251 Old 08-30-2017, 01:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
I have an March 2016 build GLA250 without COMAND and have been told there's no way to get Android Auto. I had a loaner 2017 without COMAND that did have Android Auto (I don't know what COMAND looks like, the GUI was nearly identical to my 2016). What am I missing from my 2016 that the 2017 has? I haven't been able to get an answer to that.

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff_KTM350 is offline  
post #8 of 251 Old 08-30-2017, 09:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: MD
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Retrofit? anyone done this?


2016 MB GLA 250 4Matic in Black (only factory options) and Garmin Map installed.
Louie is offline  
post #9 of 251 Old 08-30-2017, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: MD
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Hmmmm. interesting.


2016 MB GLA 250 4Matic in Black (only factory options) and Garmin Map installed.
Louie is offline  
post #10 of 251 Old 08-30-2017, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: MD
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Its getting interesting....hmmm.


2016 MB GLA 250 4Matic in Black (only factory options) and Garmin Map installed.
Louie is offline  
Reply

User Tag List




Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome